Tourism and Archaeology

22 Libyan sites added to the heritage list of ISESCO

Libyan Cloud News Agency – Tripoli

The Ministry of Culture and Knowledge Development celebrated on Wednesday, October 6, the World Islamic Heritage Day, which falls on September 25 of each year as approved by the Conference of Ministers of the Islamic World.

During this celebration, 22 Libyan sites were announced on the heritage list of the Islamic World Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (ISESCO).

A number of parliament members, ministers of education, culture and knowledge development, and social affairs, attended the celebration.

In her speech, the Minister of Culture, Mabrouka Toghy, praised the exerted efforts to include these sites in ISESCO heritage list, stressing the need for intellectuals, academics and specialists to take care of the Libyan heritage. 

The program of the celebration also included a presentation of the listed sites, clarifying their importance and giving an idea of ​​them.

An expert on heritage affairs at the Ministry of Culture, Abdul Muttalib Salem, told the Libyan Cloud News Agency that the listed sites included Murzuq Castle, which is the largest castle in the Sahara Desert, the ancient Awjila Mosque, Murad Agha Mosque, Othman Pasha School Al-Saqzli, the Arch of Marcus Aurelius, the Zawiyat Baza, the Zawiyat Amoura, the Fatimid Palace, and Waw Al-Namus.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button